Call a Massachusetts DUI Defense Attorney if You Refused a Breathalyzer Test
Whatever your situation, it is crucial that you contact an attorney from Pollack Law Group, P.C. (PLG) to help you resolve your charges. The assistance of an experienced lawyer increases the likelihood of resolving issues surrounding DUI and Breathalyzer test problems.
Yes, you got arrested. That doesn't mean you have to get convicted! Our attorneys are extremely knowledgeable and skilled in handling DUI charges of all types. They are prepared to discuss your case in a free initial consultation and advise you how to move forward with your defense. It is important not to just plead guilty to a DUI charge. So many types of defenses are possible and in fact, with the accuracy of the testing that is used, it is very possible that you were not driving intoxicated at all.
Call the Pollack Law Group, P.C. today at 800-82-DEFENSE (800-823-3336). Learn about our statewide OUI-DUI defense strategy. Free initial consultation.
Penalties for Refusing the Breathalyzer Test
Massachusetts has strict laws regarding refusing a Breathalyzer test. If you refuse the test, you face an immediate suspension of your license for 180 days or longer, even for life in some cases, depending on whether you have earlier multiple DUI convictions. These are the penalties under the new DUI laws:
- First offense: 180-day automatic driver's license suspension
- Second offense (or under 21 years of age): three-year license revocation
- Third offense: five-year license revocation
- Fourth offense: 10-year license revocation
- Fifth offense: License revoked for life
Our attorneys advise people to not refuse the Breathalyzer test, as you may be better off taking the test and fighting for your defense as opposed to automatically losing your license for 180 days on a first offense.
Contact Our Massachusetts DUI Law Firm. Free Consultation.
When it comes to litigating Breathalyzer refusal cases, our attorneys vigorously and tirelessly fight for clients, both in District Court and at the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV). Call 800-82-DEFENSE (800-823-3336) for a free case evaluation or contact us online. Our lawyers handle drunk driving cases throughout New England and beyond.